Kipsie

By Kipsie

Centaurea nigra

Common knapweed, appearing on the heath and along the roadside on the verges. So many beautiful plants to put a smile on your face. They certainly put a smile on mine everyday.
No allotment visit this morning as we had steady rain last evening, a bit of housework instead, not as interesting but necessary.
Down to walk Indie, a subdued welcome this morning so I think yesterdays reprimand is still at the forefront of her mind. Had a conversation with Mum about the fish she bought yesterday from the fishmonger's round. No idea what it was from her description, she was looking for it in the freezer to show me, mid sentence she tells me it had no flavour, so it could.nt be in the freezer. :-(
Walked Indie, a quick chat with Mum then back to Chudleigh to meet a friend up on the plot. Bavers is a very keen gardener, she like me loves plants. She came armed with plant goodies for me, 5 yellow French bean plants, a pink primrose, a beautiful dwarf hosta, & 2 mystery plants. We spent the next two hours wandering around the allotment site, looking at all the plots, dodging the occasional shower, comparing notes, we scrumped 2 luscious, & I mean LUSCIOUS, strawberries. WOW! The flavour. I was'nt going to bother with strawberries, although I would have room, so I must ask the variety when I see Alan & Judith. I might not tell them about the tasting. Bavers then came back to the house & had lunch before we wandered around the garden. Time to leave, she went off with a young canna grown from seed I collected last year plus pots of 'Empress of India' nasturtiums.
All in all a good day. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.