tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Produce

On 12th March I blipped the purple seed potatoes I had just bought. Today I lifted one plant and found these beautiful progeny. (The white ones are the offspring of some random sprouting spuds I found in my son's vegetable rack.)  They both looked and tasted delicious with butter and mint for supper.

As well as picking quantities of raspberries, as I have done for the last couple of weeks,  I tackled the mass of pendulous sedge that has infested the 'flower' bed in front of the house ever since we've lived here. NEVER plant this pernicious species if you value your sanity, and if you have it already I sympathize. It  seems impossible to eradicate  permanently. However I was surprisingly successful at uprooting it and was additionally rewarded by finding amongst its abominable foliage a hidden cache of twenty eggs that the hens had sequestered without my knowledge.  Using the float test I found they were all good.

Eggs, potatoes and raspberries look set to grace the dining table for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.