Living my dream

By Mima

More cheese pleese

I cut this Gouda yesterday, several weeks after its earliest ‘ready-by’ date. It looks and tastes just like a Gouda should, which is amazing considering it was made in my kitchen

Half of it was immediately packed into a box with half a Wensleydale, half a Caerphilly and a whole Camembert. The box was posted to a friend in Nelson who received it today for her birthday.

I have received reports of how much it’s been enjoyed by the whole family. So much so that they have proposed that I send them a similar box of ‘surprise’ cheese each month, in exchange for a goodly sum of money. They say they’d spend it on local artisan cheese anyway, and would rather eat mine. 

It is a lovely compliment. However I’ve decided that it’s not something I want to do. My local barter arrangements take precedence. And it would feel like a chore if I was being paid to produce a certain number of wheels a month: much too much like a job! So I’ve thanked them and turned down the offer.

I shall of course send them surplus cheeses on special occasions.

I gardened with G all morning. And survived. My stamina is returning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.