Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Heath Surprise

I haven't walked through Bagshot Heath and Swinley Forest for a while, so rectified that omission today with a 4 mile circular walk from the entrance near the  huge Bagshot radio or telecommunications mast to Radley Pond.

Part of the route took me along some of the cycle tracks developed in the area, and in the corner of my eye I spotted this large dragonfly clinging to some ferns. I only had time for one shot before it darted away.

It looks a bit like an Emperor Dragonfly, but further research leads me to believe it's a Lesser Emperor, slightly duller and smaller, and an annual migrant which breeds in ponds and small lakes and can tolerate brackish water; a description which fits the location admirably as although I could see no water nearby, my route back on nearby paths passed several small ponds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.