JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

My green valley

It was a wet afternoon, with several very heavy downpours accompanied by strong gusts and hailstones. Seed trays, tubs, wheelbarrows and buckets are all awash with lovely rain water which I must transfer into watering cans. Then, late in the day, low afternoon sun broke through the clouds to give brief, intense colour. The valley has been starting to yellow, dried by a long spring drought, but it's quickly greening again after a few recent days of significant rainfall. From my balcony, now green with tomatoes (not yet ripe, but growing well), herbs and dwarf beans, I look across our garden and young orchard, over the valley and up to the top of the downs. It's beautiful in any weather or season, but I especially like it illuminated by saturated golden hour light. For this week's green Wide Wednesday, I need look no further.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.