JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Essex Skipper?

I think this may be an Essex Skipper - it seems small compared to the somewhat larger Small Skippers I've seen in the garden in the past. According to my butterfly book, identification is straightforward as the underside of the antenna is black in an Essex Skipper, brown in a Small Skipper. Hmmm - I had a fairly good view of this one, I was close to it in good light, but I don't think there was much chance of me noting the colour of the underside of the antennae, even if I had known in advance that it was important to look at it.

I walked to the top of the hill after lunch. It's a long time since I walked up there - I barely went out for walks in June, partly because I just felt too busy, trying to focus on the vegetable plants and garden tidying as well as all the usual responsibilities, and partly because during the hot periods I didn't feel inclined to walk up hills. It was lovely to return, to see what's flowering in the hedgerow and watch rabbits in the field, and as I reached the top of the hill I found myself surrounded by butterflies, which were clearly appreciating the many flowers on the brambles in the hedge. There were lots of meadow browns, which are now plentiful in our garden too, but also the skippers, a couple of red admirals and, as I returned down the hill, a white admiral. It was not close enough for good photos, but I don't think I've seen one before so I was pleased to see it. There were lots of bees and hoverflies too. I walked on a little way into the woods: it was totally peaceful, deliciously cool and leafy, with vivid green patches of beautifully backlit leaves. I took a lot of photos, enjoying having new subjects after a month photographing the weeds in the garden, and have included some more butterflies and flowers as a collage extra. I've always liked seeing bindweed tangling through hedgerows, with its spectacular white trumpet flowers, and I particularly like the perky way the pointed buds stand up. Unfortunately it's becoming a terrible nuisance in the garden, strangling border plants and finding a foothold in the fruit bed, and I've been too busy waging war on goose grass, dock and thistles to pay enough attention to it. Now, suddenly, it's everywhere...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.