JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Making hay while the sun shines

They have been cutting the grass in the field next door. It's the second cutting this year. At this point the tractor was reversing into position for the run back up towards me. I like the patterns it makes, and hope it will stay dry for long enough to provide good hay. The photo was taken from the road beside our gateway.

I picked a lot of self-seeded chard, and spent rather a long time cleaning and chopping it for the freezer. It's not great quality but will be fine in soups and sauces. It needed to be moved as it was growing in the large bed P has been clearing and preparing, where he is about to plant brassicas. I also dug up some of the little seedlings, which I'll put into pots temporarily and then plant out when there's room. Later, I picked as much soft fruit as I had time for, strawberries, raspberries and saskatoons. It's time I made summer pudding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.