Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sniffer

Friday's blip (June 30), backblipped on Thursday (July 6)

This was the highlight of my travel day on Friday because when I walked past the dog, I momentarily wasn't surrounded by hundreds of people.  I passed the sniff test and moved on to the next line....

The day started at 3:45 AM with my alarm going off.  I got myself and my luggage ready, and Anni tapped on my door at 4:45 to say she was bringing the car around.  Our "quick" drive to the Boston airport took a little longer than anticipated.  We got there, but it was so confusing trying to find the departure drop-off that we had to go around a few times.  Finally, we decided to just drop me off at the baggage claim level.  It was deserted, so I found the elevator and made my way up to the check-in level.  

It was a mob scene!  Hundreds of people were in various lines, and no one was happy.  Fortunately, I had a lot of time because it took almost an hour to check in and make it to the security line.  After another 30 minutes, I cleared security and I was finally free from the lines!  

Once I found my gate, I had plenty of time.  It was only 7:00 and my flight was at 8:05.  I went looking for food and ended up with wrap in my extra.  I didn't know it would have to keep me sated for the next 8 hours.  Soon it was announced that the flight had been delayed 20 minutes, and then another 30 minutes, now leaving at 9:00.  We boarded at 8:30 with an ETA in Denver of around noon (4.5 hour flight, but it's 2 hours earlier in CO).

I had reserved a window seat - big mistake.  I was immediately trapped by a linebacker-size teenager (who had forgotten his deodorant that morning) in the middle seat.  Nice boy, but his shoulders were so broad that he couldn't help being in my space.  I was counting the minutes for the flight to be over while watching our progress on the screen in front of me.  When we were about half an hour from our ETA, the plane turned south, and soon after, the captain was on the PA.  He said there was lightning and hail in Denver and we didn't have enough fuel to circle while waiting for it to stop, so we would be landing in Colorado Springs to refuel.

When we landed, we were told to stay in our seats except to use the lavatories.  About half of the passengers from our full flight lined up.  An hour went by and the captain made two more announcements.  First was that we were waiting to be refueled because there was now lightning in Colorado Springs as well.  Second was that the lavatory tanks were full, so they couldn't be used any more.  Finally, we were towed to a gate so those who wanted to (everyone) could get off the plane while we were waiting.  It felt so good to get out of that tiny space after being trapped there for 6 hours!

At about 3:30, they announced that everyone should reboard.  We finally took off and had a very turbulent flight to Denver, arriving at 4:20 PM - only 5 hours later than our original arrival time.  Becky and Eddie were at the airport waiting for me at 11:30 and I told them to go home.  At least we could use our phones!  Becky said to call after I got my luggage and she would send an Uber for me.

The Uber was only four minutes out, so I was soon settled in the spacious backseat chatting with my friendly driver.  He said he was from Puerto Rico and I told him my husband was too.  After an uneventful drive home, he waited outside to meet Eddie and they had a nice visit.  I walked into the house at 6:40 PM, about 16 hours after leaving the hotel in Boston.

Lessons learned:  Never fly on a holiday weekend, Never fly out of Boston, and Never, never get trapped in the window seat again. 

I guess I was lucky to get home at all, since so many flights were being cancelled around the country for various reasons.  I am grateful that I arrived safely, and at least on the right day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.