Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Not the Luton off road triathlon

But that is what I set out to photograph. I did get some nice shots of the mountain bike section of the triathlon but these two out riding for pleasure seemed to be having so much more fun that I decided to use this picture instead.

The triathlon consisted of an 800m swim, 9.5km cycle ride and 5km run. Cameras are not allowed in the pool so I couldn't photograph the swim and the running was down some narrow lanes so that wasn't really a photo opportunity either.

It was great to see the variety of participants. There were the 'jocks' who were clearly out to win and then the ordinary folk who would just be happy to finish. I was rooting for the latter. Two participants stood out for me. This guy who was so happy and if you take a look at his bike, so ill equipped (no suspension, cycle rack clearly not a mountain bike), and this lady who had such a curious cycling style. I do hope they finished.

I may well choose this as my challenge for 2014. I will have to learn to do the front crawl properly first. No way I can enter a race like this and do my usual pedestrian breast stroke.

My integrity is saved somewhat by the triathlon competitor who just managed to sneak into the photo - you can just about see them on the far left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.