The second half of life..

By twigs

Tui!!

Success!!  Again, I heard the distinctive call of the tui somewhere nearby and as I watched from inside the back door...…..swoosh! and there he was.  Trev, in all his technicolour glory.  It's taken a while but at last I had a tui visit my feeding station.  After his feed he flew up into a nearby tree for a quick call, then he was gone.  A short while later, a repeat of his visit except this time, I was waiting with the back door open to get a clear view/shot (rainy weather so shots not as clear as I'd like, but I really don't care....just very happy to have him visit).  Same thing again after his feed........fly up into a tree, make a few calls then disappear to somewhere else.  By this stage I was starting to fizz.  A short while later I heard his call again and snuck outside.  There he was in his 'call' tree and right there alongside was a second tui.......I assume Mrs Trev.  Whilst they didn't visit the feeding station at the same time I was thrilled simply to have a couple here together.

In the afternoon K & C popped in for a catch up.  Always lovely to see them and always a good natter and chin wag.  They'd seen the feeder set up as they came round the back of the house - told me they get maybe 4 or sometimes even 6 tuis visiting their place!  Slightly envious of that, but thrilled nevertheless to have had my two.  

Looking forward to seeing what tomorrow brings on the tui front........now they know what my café serves I'm hoping they'll become regulars :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.