The second half of life..

By twigs

Snow!!

The weather forecasters were right!  Woke to find 3 or 4 inches of snow covering the area which looked absolutely stunning.  Mid morning I decided to take a walk so, rugged up to the nines in ski pants, ski jacket, merinos, wooly hat and gloves, sturdy boots I set off.  It's been quite a few years since I've been in snow and the walk took me back to my childhood in England where we pretty much walked everywhere in all seasons. It was tough going in places but I felt a real sense of adventure as I trudged through the snow slowly getting wetter and wetter.  The effort from the walking ensured I didn't get cold though which was good.

I didn't venture too far - maybe a kilometre along the road, and by the time I returned I'd probably been out maybe an hour and a half.  Time means nothing when you're enjoying what you're doing.

Back at the van, off with the wet gear, on with the jug - cuppa time.  I decided that I would like to take the van for a short drive after my cuppa but when I started it.......nothing.  Nooooooooooo!  All I could get out of it was a cough......it sounded like the battery.  Called the AA (again!) and within about 45 minutes the same breakdown serviceman from last week (also the proprietor of the garage who fixed last week's issue)  arrived. Deja vu alright!  He tested the battery and indicated it was flat but was able to jump start it.  With instructions not to turn it off but to take it for a bit of a run (the roads were pretty clear of snow by this time) then return to the garage where they'd look into it.  Longer story short - the battery was fully charged and they have no idea why it wouldn't start.  The plan now is to see how it goes over the next few days.  The forecast is for more snow for another day or maybe two so I won't be going far from here until the highways are open and safe.  Decided that it would be a good idea to spend tonight in a campground where I can charge the house batteries before returning to my favourite wee camping spot at the canal side (extras).  

Watch this space.........!

Addendum: just found out this is my 4745th blip.......that's 13 years. I knew it was coming up but it kind of snuck past me.  If I'd have remembered I may have built a snowman to help me celebrate :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.