The second half of life..

By twigs

The cutest one-legged duck on Ohau

Coldest night of the trip so far - not a hoar frost but parts of the landscape certainly had some very good frosty bits (extras).

Spent much of the day down at Lake Benmore/Ohau C.  Such a relaxing and peaceful time.  It's a huge area, which I had all to myself........until another 'vanner' pulled up right alongside my van, leaped out and shouted down to me on the lakeside "You don't mind if we fish here do you?"  How was I supposed to answer that question?  'Actually, yes I do.  Could you go find some place else please?'  I said 'No, of course not'  He cast his lines within 5m of where I was sitting.  She called down to me, trying to start a conversation.  I remained focussed on the birds on the lake.

It was a very chilly couple of hours spent there and my afternoon cuppa was a welcome break from the cold.  The surplus hot water from the jug went in to a hot water bottle which then warmed my toes. 

Eventually I started thinking about returning but, as is my way, I get distracted.  A little further back along the canal I saw this (extras) karearea (New Zealand falcon) perched on a post and was amazed I was able to get within decent shot range of him.  Very obliging.  A little further still and I stopped on the road over the canal, partly to have a looksee and partly because there was a duck in the middle of the road who clearly was not going to move.  Within seconds of getting out the van I heard the flapping of wings pass me by and I turned just in time to see Mr Duck land a few metres from me.  It was then that I noticed he was a one-legged duck.  There are often fishermen along this stretch of road and I figured he must get a regular sympathy feed from them. Winter or no winter, I decided not to feed him.  I walked on along the road then down to the canal side and had only been there a couple of minutes when once again I heard the flapping of wings approaching then splash! - and there was Mr One-Legged Duck swimming towards me.  Cute, but no food.  I have to say though that I did feel tempted to repay with a rice cracker as I think he adds an unusual dimension to an otherwise regular landscape image.  I resisted though.

Tonight's weather forecast is suggesting the possibility of snow tomorrow.  Will have to wait and see what happens.  My chains may get Christened!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.