Combi31

By Combi31

Snake in the grass

First of all I'd like to thank you all for your kind words and messages after my little (mis)adventure the other day - really, it was so kind and thoughtful, thank you all so much!

The gear is going off to the insurance / manufacturer, so I'll probably not be doing any bird pics for a while, but I so want to get back to blipping, that the genre will change a bit, due to this.

I'll be using my other camera, so I'll have to either climb up the trees to get a shot (oops, maybe not, knowing my track record...), or the shots will have to change a bit, which is quite a good challenge.

I just hope all works out well in the end and can get my kit back together.

So, we went out this afternoon with honourable sons N°1 & N°2 to take some macro type shots of insects - and what did we see - yep, a few snakes ...

Both of the teens have a snake phobia - ophiophobia - for you purists, and both of them nearly stood on one as we were walking.

This snake better seen bigger here.
You know how teens really listen to every word you say?
How they hang on your each and every word and obey / listen to all the recommendations / counsel that they are given?
Well, I said to them to wear their wellies as we have had about ten years of rain in 2 hours (the sun is shining now though) - they did exactly as I suggested, apart from the wearing wellies, preferring light trainers ...
Well, when they saw the snakes, they wished they had worn their wellies ... I didn't make too much of an effort to hide my snigger - especially when they asked if the snakes could bite them ...
Did I really say that trainers are the worst type of shoe to be wearing when a snake attacks? :))))

Anyway, I know they will continue not listening to me, when I suggest something to them - that's what life is all about, isn't it ... ;)

It's great to be back by the way :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.