Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Poppies

Last night after supper I was watching a movie on Netflix when I realised the sun was setting. Sunset is currently at about 21.25 which is quite late, so I grabbed my camera and ran over the road to the harbour to take some photos. It was so warm, I was wearing shorts and a T shirt and I remembered the last time I went to take sunset photos I was very well wrapped up as it was cold. I have added some of these sunset photos as extras.

Today was another hot and sunny day. We decided to go for an early morning run with Xena rather than walking her in the heat of the day. On our run we came across a field of poppies and daisies, they looked so pretty that after the run we went back with my camera so I could take some photos.

Today has not been a good day for me, one of those days when I think my biorhythms were definitely off key. Firstly I woke up with horrible neck pain, and I hoped the run would loosen it up (which it usually does) but the run went badly and we ended up cutting it short. Then I dropped a lovely bowl that was rather expensive - luckily I can replace it. Then I cut my finger when cutting an avocado for lunch - just one of those days when things go wrong! Mostly made worse by the constant pain I was in today, and I am at the point of wondering if I need to go see a doctor and get X rays of my neck and spine as nothing is helping the pain I am experiencing.

After breakfast we decided to go sailing as there is currently a spring high tide which means the tides are higher than usual. The UK coastline is very tidal, but here in Norfolk where it is so flat, the effect of the tides can be felt to extremes - the tide comes in at a gallop and goes out very quickly, so there is a short window when one can sail. During this period, in the summer season, the harbour is a hive of activity with cars filling the harbour parking and the road leading to the harbour. It was crazy busy this morning with kayakers, stand up paddle boarders, kite surfers, sailors, all rushing to make use of the high tide waters. The boats are moored out in the creek, they sit on sand at low tide and at high tide you need a tender boat to get to them. We got out to the boat with Xena but for some reason Gavin could not get the motor to start, necessary so we could motor out the creek to the sea to sail. Xena enjoys being on the boat as there is a cooling breeze, and while poor Gavin was getting all hot and sweaty trying to start the motor we sat enjoying the cooling breeze with the sound of oyster catchers and seagulls all around us. Gavin finally had to admit defeat as he could not start the motor, there must be a problem with it, so we went back to shore, As I said, not a good day today!

We spent the rest of the day indoors, it was too hot to go outside. At about 4pm we took Xena for another walk but everyone got so hot and sweaty that we came home again.

Another quiet night at home, I will find something to watch on Netflix.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.