Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Rozanne

It is a scorcher today - 28C with not a breath of wind. Poor Xena does not know where to lie, she keeps lying with her head under an armchair hoping it will be cool under there.

Gavin took the day off to help sort things for Tommy's party. He was not happy with certain things about the marquee, and to be fair last time we used this company (for Luke's 21st five years ago) we got much better service from them. So Gavin set about removing panels where he could, repositioned openings, and had to move all the tables and chairs into position as they had been dumped in a corner of the marquee. He phoned the marquee company and asked them to send someone out to change the position of the dance floor which they duly did. Gavin made sure all the extensions plugs were in place and the cables were out of harms way.

I went off to the supermarket to get some food for the weekend as all the boys will be home. On my way home near the house a truck came past me really close so I was forced to go to the very edge of the road, and next thing I hit my tyre against the curb and I think it popped, because as I pulled in to the driveway my tyre pressure message came on flashing red for the one tyre. Gavin managed to find a mobile tyre repair man to come out with a new tyre - I have low profile tyres on the car so I was lucky he was able to find a replacement at such short notice, a few others he phoned had no stock. He then showed us how worn the tyres were, so no wonder it burst, he was surprised it had not happened sooner - yet it passed its MOT a few months ago. The other front tyre was dangerously smooth so he went off to get another tyre and has just arrived back to replace that one too.

Gavin was home to take delivery of other things, like the portable loos - I am not having anyone in the house - and the flowers that the local florist did for us, she always does a good job and is so reasonable too.  I went back to the village to get things I forgot like a plastic table cloth for the drinks table and other bits and pieces.

This afternoon it was too hot to take Xena for another walk - so I painted my nails! That is a big deal for me as I never paint my nails - as a teenager I remember painting my nails with a Mary Quant yellow polish, but these days I never bother. I managed a good job too, it takes skill to paint the right hand nails with your left hand when you are right handed! 

Our garden is filled with these Rozanne geraniums, in fact there are so many I often think I should pull them up and replace them with something different,  but they do give a good show of colour every summer.

The boys arrive home tonight, for the big day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.