The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Kit out again

I was worried about the storm, so I hitched a ride down to Strous with CS then went about my business. A few things didn't go to plan. I'd forgotten to bring a cheque that I was planning to pay in; the staff were busy on the phone at the Subs when I stopped to collect a ticket, so I left it (the gig is not until next February, LOL); WHSmith had 'no newspapers till 12' and there weren't any in the station cafe either. On the other hand, I did find a medium sized suitcase in a charity shop, and a good supply of jigsaws: (I only bought one), and I was directed to a shop in the back streets that still sells newspapers.

I took the suitcase to Steve's market stall, so he could drive it home later. By now it was raining quite hard. I got a takeaway coffee to enjoy behind the stall, then walked home when the rain abated.

I'd bought a plain red A5 ring binder and a pad, as I needed something for work and I was damned if I was going to buy a filofax! Decided on the way home that I could jazz it up using the 'torn paper method'. I used to do loads of stuff like that but I haven't done any for years, though I can't bring myself to throw anything out from my vast crafting cupboard. Had a lot of fun playing around with papers and colours, and was happy with the upcycled result. Maybe I can still do crafts without it taking over my life, as it did before (mind you, I was unemployed then so I needed something to do).

Indie the cat was still asleep. The birds were feeding on suet and sunflower seeds. The sky was dark grey, apart from the odd period of sunshine. I wanted to watch a series on Apple TV, but it kept buffering on the TV. None of the usual hacks worked. I'd more or less given up when Steve came home, unloading his stock in a downpour. I helped him, then I decided, for reasons that are not clear to me, to start my largest jigsaw, the 1,500 piece one. I'm sorting it now. It's so dark, I keep wondering what time it is. As I write, it's 18.06. We've only had one rumble of thunder all day, but that is ok by me.

Clean Steve is sad because Mark Cavendish had a gear-slip in the Tour de France last night and didn't win the Stage as expected, and today he had an crash and is in hospital. This was supposed to have been his last professional race before retiring, so he has no chance now to return to the competition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.