Kipsie

By Kipsie

Same same, but different

L. Stachys sylvatica - Hedge woundwort
R. Stachys officinalis - Betony

I was walking back down Black Path with Indie, when a man walking towards me removed his straw sun hat.
I said "Good morning"
He said "Good morning, you don't recognise me do you?"
I pondered, did I know him??
"I'm the man on the bicycle"
"Oh my goodness, I was only talking about you yesterday, wondering what had happened to you as I had'nt seen you cycling around the heath for months, & then one day last week I saw you again"
Every morning this man kitted out in lycra, & cycle helmet would pass me heading in the same direction,  raising a hand, saying good morning, as I was walking back to the village, sometimes passing me twice as he did his laps. No spring chicken, I could tell. Well this lovely man has had prostate cancer, only just beginning to cycle again since his treatment has finished, the chemo leaving him with very little energy. He is 87 years of age, widowed, originally from Hull, living near a daughter who lives in CK. I had a potted life history, Such a sweet, gentle man.

I met Josie, & Sandie for supper last evening, (back Blip) we parked creekside in Stoke Gabriel, walked over to the River Shack where we thought Jos had booked a table as she had been singing it's praises, neither of us ever visited SG before, Jos having worked at the village stores for awhile, BUT, she had'nt booked a table & they couldn't accommodate us so we walked creekside to the church to check out the ancient yew in the churchyard, then managed to get a table in the Church House Inn. Same same, but different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.