LIFE!!!

By greengirl

A flying visit

I spent just over 24 hours with these two but we packed in a lot!

This morning I went with them to the climbing wall in Felbridge. I watched for a while and then went out for a walk, mostly on paths through woods and fields, trying to avoid busy roads. I find the noise and fumes of traffic difficult down here :-(

We had a quick lunch back at the flat and by this time it was raining, so a perfect opportunity to play a board game (Wingspan again but with an Oceanic “extension” - some exotic birds and extra rules to learn). Of course I didn’t win but I think my game is improving..

Game over, we thought a we might fit in a quick stroll up on the North Downs before tea. This is only a short distance from the flat, but full of interest - Reigate Fort (built in the 1890s to help protect England from the French), the site of B17 which crashed into the hillside in 1945, a huge bomb crater, also from WW2, and Roman snails (legally protected - see extra).

We ended up walking four miles and jeopardising any chance of me getting to Uckfield on time…but even after a tasty hasty creation of Miso Butter Green Pasta, I made the train from Oxted (thanks!)

It was incredibly hard to say goodbye. But my Mum and Dad are so pleased that I’m here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.