iaint

By iaint

The Sabbath, Observed

I was in a church today. On a Sunday, no less. Do not tell my friends or they will think I have gone gaga. 

It was not part of the plan, to be honest. I had driven the short distance to Aberdour to see the shinty club's women take on Glenurquhart as shown on the Camanachd Association's website. 

I arrived at the right time, but no-one was there. The website is still showing the match as taking place at 1pm. Oh well...

I improvised and went for a walk. I noticed a sign for St Fillan's Church, and decided to take a look. Turns out it is 900 years old this year, and may be the oldest church in Scotland. 

The Blip is one of the windows, obviously, and one of the Extras shows the outside. It is hidden away behind the castle. 

The other Extra is where I had my picnic (supermarket meal deal) sandwich. I parked in the station car park knowing it would be quiet on a Sunday, and chose to eat in the station for the same reason. It wins prizes for being one of the best maintained.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.