The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Reybridge (Sunday 9th July 2023)

I ended up by the River Avon at Reybridge this afternoon after a trip to Chippenham in Archie, to keep it ticking over. I had planned to walk up to the Wilts and Berks canal to see recent ehancements that have been made there, but found it was too warm for a largely unshaded walk, so just strolled in the other direction a short while along the riverbank.

The view of the river is largely obscured by tall undergrowth but I heard mention of a heron. In one gap I was granted a glimpse of this scene of a female swan with a solitary cygnet. Her partner was on my side of the river directly below me but not visible to me from there.

L.
Sunday 9.7.2023 (2043 hr)

Blip #3917 (#3667 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2025 #124/265 + #068/100 Extras
Day #4851 (1124 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3057 (#2897 + 160 in archived blips)

Reybridge series
River series
River Avon (Bristol) series
Swans series

Taken with Pentax K-1 Mark II and Pentax HD P-D FA 28-105mm f/3.5-5.6ED DC WR lens

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Hank Snow, The Singing Ranger, And His Rainbow Ranch Boys - I'm Movin' On (recorded RCA Studios, Nashville TN, 1950)
Iggy Pop played this on his Confidential Radio 6 show this afternoon while I was in the car at Reybridge. His introduction to the song was the same as mine, from hearing the 1965 live Rolling Stones version from the Liverpool Empire (from their EP Got Live If You Want It in the UK and the album December's Children in the States) with Brian Jones' bottleneck guitar and Charlie Watts and Bill Wyman's locked in groove, their most classic period as far as I'm concerned.
Hank Snow's original stayed at the top of the US charts for 21 weeks, setting the all-time record for most weeks at number one. It was Hank Snow who introduced Elvis Presley to Col Tom Parker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.