La vida de Annie

By Annie

Two mini-adventures today...

I've been dying for a shower since the op, but couldn't get my pressure dressings wet until someone checked them out, and haven't spotted a doctor since leaving ICU, so hatched a cunning plan. While the staff were busy doing the morning obs at 6am and before breakfast at 7am, I sneaked off to the shower armed with a disposable plastic nurse's apron to tie round the thigh puncture wound. It fell down immediately and everything got soaked, so I thought sod it and had a lovely long shower. The dressings were able to be removed with a little care, and all seemed fine: horrible bruising but no bleeding. As yet no-one has asked about the dressings or the lack of compression stockings which I also managed to lose, though I keep hiding my legs under a robe to avoid getting another pair. I'm not confined to bed after all.

The other outing was a little exploration of the hospital corridors, ending with this pleasant little garden for patients and visitors, where I spent a time happily basking in the sun. Though I felt really good at the time, a huge wave of fatigue swept over me afterwards, reminding me that although I think I'm mended I do need to remember to take things gently.

The rest of the afternoon was filled with risqué jokes in the ward after one of the ladies disturbed an elderly gentleman in an unlocked loo enjoying a little pleasurable time all by himself....

All of life is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.