Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

More roses

Another rose, but in the front garden this time.
I had an altercation with a lady at the weekend as she lifted her children onto our wall so they could run up and down our 'secret' stairs in the middle of our front garten. They come out just in front of this rosebed. I did explain to her that young children with a parent were less likely to cause damage but that older children had been a real problem in the past. She said she hadn't realised it was somebody's garden!!! Why did I end up feeling guilty for asking them not to do it?
This rose is looking particularly good this year, or at least it was before today's rain!

I went along to church this morning to see how the water boiler was behaving after my session with it yesterday. All seems well which is good news. Our Rector's wife, who is also our children's minister was running a session in the hall for under 5s and their parents. A fellow Cancerian, today is her birthday, so I took her across to Costa for a break and a drinks and a toastie at lunch time. The Rector was at home this afternoon with the three year old making cupcakes for her birthday treat.
This afternoon I took the car down for it's MOT and service. Apart from needing 2 new tyres, one of which had picked up a screw which had damaged the side wall!, it passed. Its 10th birthday is this month so I'm pleased about that.There are so many screws and nails lying around the streets these days, it can be very expensive. Fortunately, these two tyres were coming to the end of their tread life in any case.
Ali and Josie came over later on the afternoon. Ali borrowed some ramekins to make individual fish pies to freeze for Josie. She had the first here and wolfed it down which was good.
I've developed a really sore neck today so haven't finished off my blackcurrant jelly. Hopefully it will be better by tomorrow and I can press on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.