ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Regalia

As I knew that my sword (from Helsinki) had been delivered to the office, I decided to take the hat in to join it today. I managed to rig it up so that the bag the hat box was in was tied to my pannier rack. It wasn't wholly successful as a technique, but I managed to get the hat to the office unscathed. (This blip, and the one before it, explains).

After the ceremony (which went off smoothly, thank goodness, which is not the case with other ceremonies in more affected Schools), we had the graduation photograph in the Quad. I succumbed to temptation and brought out the hat and the sword to accessorise my gown.

After that, I went for a long lunch with some colleagues, to honour a honorary graduate, and - well - that was it, really. Luckily, I didn't get a whole bunch of emails during the day, so I was able to get away with a day like that.

After a beautiful morning, the rain is now teeming down. It also poured down around 3pm and one thing that did interrupt this afternoon's graduation ceremony in McEwan Hall was apparently leaking chandeliers. Oops, after that expensive renovation. In between, it was more or less dry, which was just as well as I went to work without a coat today. I managed to cycle home without getting wet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.