Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

It's been a day

Two different species of bumble bee ... taken before the day turned dark.

I’m adding to this entry, nearly a week later. The morning started normal - I had a nice long FT chat with my parents and then Hubs and I had lunch. And while we were finishing he got a call from MIL’s care facility saying that her pulse and oxygen were low. Hubs drove over (only 2 miles away) and very quickly she got worse. Ambulance was called and she headed to the hospital - also thankfully only a few miles away. I called SIL and we both went to the hospital.

The end result is that her heart isn’t beating well which would normally be fixed by inserting a pacemaker. Not an option for her. At one point I thought we were losing her as she couldn’t seem to breath and all her vitals were dangerously low. But they administered an opioid and within minutes she was visibly better. eventually the hospital released her back to the care facility. Hospice to be brought in tomorrow morning. She was fairly alert and responsive and not in any pain.

When she turned 94 last month I think we all kind of thought she was going to live another handful of years. So while this shouldn’t perhaps be shocking, it is exactly that.


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.