WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

En blanc et noir

It was already ridiculously hot when I arrived at the swimming pool shortly after ten, and an unusually large number of people had had the same idea ... I still managed to get 15 lengths in though, before the splashing, shrieking, ball-throwing, and invasion of thirsty wasps became too much.

I'd considered going to the midday concert in Lagrasse, but it was far too hot. I went to the 6 pm one instead ... even that was stifling. Young pianist Nikita Lukinov had stepped in at short notice when the original musicians had to cancel -- he was very good , alternately flamboyant and subtle (extra 1).

After this concert I nipped home for refreshments and then headed back for the evening concert, a jazz programme with Belgian pianist Johan Dupont and saxophonist Jan Rzewski. I can't say I was bowled over by Rzewski, he's one of those players who make tuneless farting noises in order to sound avant garde, which I am never keen on. Johan Dupont (blip) was great though, doing Bach-like improvisations that silenced the saxophonist for some time. I left when they took a break though -- it was already 11 pm and I was tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.