Making connections

It amazes me how this world of Blip connects people, just through the posting of photos. I have made connections with many people, who I would now say were friends of mine. I have been lucky enough to meet a few of them, but that is actually irrelevant. It is through the daily contact that connections are made and friendships emerge.

During my first few months with Blip, I made a connection with AnnieB and she with me. Since then we have contacted each other through Blip, on a daily basis. Hardly a day has gone by without my looking at her journal and commenting and she at mine. We would often reply to the comments made and thus have snatches of conversation. We have shared the ups and downs in the lives of our respective families and followed each other on travels around the world. We talked about getting together at some point and eventually this was organised. Next week we were to meet up. She was staying at my house and then we would have a day travelling through the Lake District, looking at the Art Deco AnnieB is so interested in.

This visit is now on hold.

The other week we got a sudden and shocking message. AnnieB had had a stroke and was in hospital. We were all stunned.

Since then, ClydeBorn has done a fantastic job, as a friend of AnnieB's, in keeping us all informed as to how she was doing. And then today she did a magnificent job of organising a party at the hospital to celebrate AnnieB's year on blip. I decided I would go and made the journey to Lanarkshire today.

It was a lovely occasion, with balloons, sandwiches and cake, but most of all AnnieB in the centre of it all. It was a gathering of blippers, friends and family. Thank you Clydeborn for all the work in organising it. There will I am sure be more details and pictures. I will link them in as they emerge.

AnnieB it was lovely to meet you, even in these unfortunate circumstances. Get well soon. Our planned trip is just on hold.


The picture is the Leadhills and Wanlockhead Railway in Lanarkshire, that we happened to find on our way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.