An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Stirling Castle...

Snapped from the car on the way to a very exclusive eatery but more on that shortly :-))

Spent a little while this morning in conversation with my group of friends who are coming on Saturday.  Alice can't come, which is a shame, but Marie can, which is fantastic as she's missed the last couple of our get-togethers (meaning I haven't seen her since pre-covid).  They all like salmon so I am going to make the delicious Asian salmon that Gail made last Saturday and serve it with assorted salads and baby potatoes.

After lunch D and I headed to the cinema to see the much anticipated (by me ;-) Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny. Popcorn purchased (don't start me on the price, but we figured we would treat ourselves since the last time we were at the cinema was in 2018 to see Mamma Mia 2! ) we headed to the screen and got settled.  SO many adverts then the trailers.  I like the look of Oppenheimer.  And then the main event.

I won't say anything about the film that gives anything away as I don't want to spoil it for anyone still hoping to see it, but what I will say is we enjoyed it immensely.  The effects are brilliant and I am so glad we saw it on the big screen.  

As I sat there watching, I could not compute that it will be 40 years next year since I sat in the ABC Cinema in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street watching Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom and falling head over heels for Harrison Ford :-)  

Of course I've watched all four Indiana films many times over in the intervening years and I'd be hard pressed to choose a favourite, (although not the Crystal Skull one) It's a close thing between Raiders of the Lost Ark and Temple of Doom, and that's still the case having seen this final instalment, but I think it was a great storyline, fabulous effects, nods to the previous films, and a fitting end for my hero.  

It was almost 6.30pm when we emerged, blinking in the sunshine.  We had planned to go to the Riverside Restaurant for dinner but changed our minds at the last minute and headed to Burger King!  Another nod to 1984 :-))

I did get slightly distracted at the scenes in the film that were shot in the centre of Glasgow, trying to recognise the buildings, but the action soon drew me in again.  

Hoping it won't be another 5 years before we return to the cinema but next time I will definitely take my own popcorn!  Ach, who am I kidding?  We're worth it!  lol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.