An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Great garage Clear Out!

Phase 1 - the before shot.

Once upon a time we were actually able to keep cars in our garage but that hasn't been the case for a long time.  It's been cleared out numerous times but we close the door and in a blink it's full of stuff again.  We seem to be very good at accumulating stuff!

Just over two years ago we had a massive clear out and got rid of all the things that were to be binned or given to charity (this was in anticipation of converting the garage to an art and photography studio for me, a plan that was quickly ditched when the first quote we received for the work was  £32k!  hahahahahahahaha! Not happening!)

Since then nothing much has happened in the garage apart from it accumulating more stuff.  But now the time has come for the ultimate clear out and I am so excited about it!  :-))

I am clearly easily thrilled :-/

Given our previous clear out, all that stuff in there should theoretically be for keeping or selling, but a quick glance around it today and I could clearly see there will be at least one, if not two, runs to the tip required.

In among the ordinary are hidden treasures that I hope to sell including Alan's Silver Cross pushchair (that I thought was carefully stored in the loft as he hardly used it so it was virtually brand new, but for some unknown reason was put in the garage when we moved here and is now grubby! I am hoping it will clean up)  the antique farmhouse kitchen table we bought when we first moved here, the Italian glass and chrome coffee and lamp tables we brought from our last house, winter tyres for...erm I can't remember which make of car, a load of solid wood internal doors, 2 beautiful wrought iron gates that we assume were from the entrance to the garden when the back of the house used to be the front (before previous owners sold off the land for two bungalows to be built!) and two baths!

There's also a myriad of boxes containing goodness knows what, so investigating them will be exciting.  I use that term loosely.  

David made a start today moving the wheelbarrow and some gardening equipment to the outbuilding that was refurbed in 2021.  That will now store mainly garden furniture and equipment.  The official Great Garage Clear Out (GGCO) is in the diary for 24th & 25th July.

This afternoon I spent some time painting acrylic on canvas.  As I am learning to use acrylics I chose a subject familiar to me (a thistle) so I could concentrate on the painting rather than composition.  I really enjoyed my time but perhaps not the result so far, but I know every painting goes through an ugly stage and it doesn't mean it's bad, it just means its not finished. 

If I'm honest I wish I'd chosen to be a bit more adventurous and chosen a different subject, but the joy of acrylics is I can paint over it if I am still not happy with the final result :-)

In more exciting news, tomorrow I am finally going to see Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny!  I ADORE Harrison Ford!  I can't wait!  I shall be on an Indy and popcorn high.  Watch out world!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.