An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Mini with the fringe on top...

Today I spent the morning like a teenager.  In bed.  Sound asleep!

I was awake between 4am and 7.30am (no idea why!)  when D's alarm went off.  I was about to get up but let him sneak into the shower before me.  When he emerged I was apparently sound asleep and when I eventually woke up, it was 12.05pm!  All I had to drink last night was two small glasses of Prosecco and a G&T so I am blaming my tardiness on a busy few weeks!

I had a bowl of cereal for lunch! :-)

Now that Gail's slate is off my painting table I was able to get our friend Jann's commission of a pink blob cat cut and mounted in the card and in the envelope ready to post to her tomorrow.  Another tick off the to-do list.

Got a lovely message from Gail (just as I was messaging her with our thanks for a great evening) saying she and Alan are absolutely delighted with the slate (I forgot to include a photo of my painting process of the slate yesterday so have added it in today's extras) and they were sitting in the garden enjoying my Empire biscuits with a mug of tea.  Fab!  :-)

D and I finally had a minute to get into the garden and see all the new planting that took place last week.  We are really delighted with it.  Weirdly we both love the areas under the big trees where ferns and some grasses have been planted, best.  These are kind of wild areas that were a bit derelict looking.  Now it looks like the start of a proper woodland area beneath and I am excited to see how it develops. 

Dinner was BBQ chicken drumsticks with salad (ie BBQ sauce flavour, not cooked on the BBQ)  Not a patch on last night's feast but enjoyable none the less.  

My thoughts are now turning to next weekend when this unruly lot are coming.  Thinking I might make the delicious Asian salmon that Gail made last night as it can be prepared in advance.  Don't want to miss a second of this brilliant lot's company by being in the kitchen longer than I have to be.

And not it's bedtime and I've not managed to get round your journals again!  I am so sorry.  I MUST try harder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.