Teasel

By Teasel

Clouds

There were no long lies today as BB and I were going to visit my parents, and I wanted to set off at a reasonable time.  He wasn’t very happy about getting up “early”, and in fact I think he actually went back to bed briefly.  I was pleased we left at a reasonably early time, though not very early.  The drive north was quite smooth, and we passed through different weather – but mostly different thicknesses of clouds.
 
When we reached our destination, BB was keen for some breakfast, and my mum and dad were happy to oblige.  After a catch up, I then took them into town for a few things, including lunch.  Plan A was scuppered when the shop was closed for holidays.  My dad came up with Plan B – and unbelievably that shop was also closed.  Plan C was put into action and I am pleased to say, lunch was successfully purchased, though not quite what we had originally planned.  My mum and dad did a bit more shopping, and my dad was rather frustrated when the chemist couldn’t find his prescription which the computer said had been made up.  One of the staff lives near them, and kindly offered to drop if off when (if) they find it.  I also bought some lovely flowers from a local nursery for myself and for my mum.
 
It was then home for lunch which went down very well all round.  After lunch I offered to take them out somewhere.  My dad had a think and suggested we go to a garden centre which he hadn’t been to for a long time (pre-covid he thinks).  I was happy to oblige, so we took a scenic journey there, along a number of rural back roads – under my dad’s direction.  It’s one of these garden centres that it takes you a while to find the plants, as they sell so much other stuff.  Anyway, once we had got beyond the “stuff”,  I bought a chocolate cosmos and they didn’t buy anything in the end.  We did enjoy tea and cakes in the lovely café, before taking a different, and equally scenic route back home, stopping off to look at some Pictish stones.
 
I then headed out for a walk, but couldn’t persuade anyone to come out with me.  It was a lovey part of the day, still very cloudy, but bright at the same time.  Once back home, I went to collect fish and chips for tea.  We have eaten very well today.  We departed about 8pm and drove back down the road.  BB’s highlight was driving behind an Aston martin for a while.  My lowlight was “boy racers” on the Edinburgh by-pass who shot past me, driving at least 100mph.  I was very weary by the time I got home, but it has been another lovely day.
 
A view from my late afternoon walk, looking north, with the thick clouds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.