Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Moss

My Calm prompt this afternoon said “there is power in slowing down”.    Humm.   I hope so.

H went to get some supplies on Galiano today but there was no birdseed to be had.  I do know there is a question of whether we should be feeding them at all in the summer….I just love to see them a lot but I’m not too worried about their dinners.    

So now you get moss.  I enjoyed Robin Wall Kimmerer’s book “Gathering Moss” a lot…a whole book about moss!      It’s takes a very long time to grow and I especially like that it’s an indicator of the purity of air and water, since these plants are one cell thick, many air and water born toxins will kill them…That’s why moss is hard to find in some places in some cities.     No problem here.   Many different varieties on these glacial erratics out the back door.  Respect it. 

(the moose is mine, the little creature on the right is an AI generated "dark brown squirrel"...NOT.   Most of them looked like red rabbits!    but for scale.) :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.