spannarama

By spannarama

Wagtail

Tim's actual birthday today.  We had done such a good job of convincing ourselves that it was on Saturday, that we had to keep reminding ourselves that it was today.  I had to work in the morning though, and then pack,  and then head off in the afternoon - so it was kind of handy we'd managed to fool ourselves.  Tim also went to the walk-in clinic in the morning, to get his sore hand looked at (he damaged his knuckle over-tightening a bolt in our first week here). The paramedics who staff the clinic strapped it up for him and told him to keep resting it - and he was home within half an hour. Amazing, on a Monday morning!  (The rain may have helped people keep away - it was chucking it down at various points!)

Thankfully the weather had cleared up nicely by the time I set out (3pm), and I had a really good journey to just outside Oxford, where I was staying for the night (in the cheapest Premier Inn I could find en route to my staff away day location - Kidlington, right by 'London Oxford' Airport).

Annoyingly, the restaurant on site was closed due to staff shortages, so I had a bit of a dreary drive out to Sainsburys to pick up some food for my room.  Topped up on petrol too, though, so it was quite handy.

Had a restful evening in my room and washed my hair, to save time tomorrow. Spent some time in the phone to Tim (wedged in the window, the only place I could get a tiny bit of phone signal), watching this little wagtail having a rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.