Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

"This isn't how the story ends,

it's just a fork along the road"

Retiring song, Reunion by Bon Jovi

Today has been a mix of laughter, tears, smiles, sadness and applause. Applause for those who read tributes to David, all of which were personal and touching, yet all had a common theme. The photo collage I had made set the right tone for the celebration service as people were laughing at his antics and smiles. I almost lost it at the end of the eulogy but got through it. Huge credit to David's son for being incredibly courageous today. His Dad will be so proud of him. 

I am grateful for many things, one of which are the photos and videos taken by Mrs HCB, including this one and my extra (and I hope I can be forgiven for not taking this one). Pete was picking Beau up and said to me "come with" so we had time first to go and get some goldfish. Jo popped in for a chat and as with Pete earlier Beau had fun playing. Light moments and I know it would be what David would want.

Grateful to all of those who made the time to be there today, and were all so supportive, but also embraced this as remembering the special person that he was. It was small and personal and somehow felt right.

When I went to put the goldfish in there was a beautiful pink waterlily. Thank you Mum for sending this sign today. The lilies Del the funeral director is holding were picked from the garden this morning. David's mischievous side was in evidence today as a knob fell off the coffin when it was being set in place in the chapel, and then the pot of lilies was blown over as they were getting ready to go to the crematorium. A butterfly followed the hearse.

Tonight I feel calm, like the eye of the storm. I have done my meditation and will go and have a bath now, make sure everything is ready for the morning and catch up on comments and journals on my return. I will also add a final Blip on Mr T's journal.

Thank you everyone who sent messages, posted in their Blips today, and sent thoughts and said prayers. I could feel all that love and support today, and you all played a part in getting me through. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.