Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The tall and the short of it

My friends Wayne and Nancy live on the road on the way to the church so today I trespassed to stop and take a few photos of their sunflower field.  Got some closeups but I liked this one best as it shows some flowers that grew way above the others.   There are hundreds of flowers in this field.

I love how their little (and big) faces are turned toward the sun.    At least they are getting the heat they need.

Speaking of heat, I had to do some googling today as the San Marzano tomatoes are just hanging there and none are turning red. I have about 20 tomatoes!    It has been over 30 days since the first little tomatoes showed up and not one has ripened yet.    They are growing but I felt like the larger/older ones should have already been red.   However, the google search said that extreme heat will stop growth.   And guess who has extreme heat.   I may never get any of these tomatoes to ripen since the extreme heat will last through August!!       The other two tomato plants are slower drying up.  I might have gotten six tomatoes between the two plants.  

  I am not even going to try to grow any tomatoes next year since I can get them at the farmers market near me. Without having to water them and then wonder if they will make it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.