Theleens

By Theleens

Songwriting Sunday

For a while there I was collaborating with my good friend R. However, since returning to the US in February, there has been a great deal more activity than I'd planned for. Therefore, working on my own material, and performing rather than joint-songwriting, had been the order of the day.

So, we decided it was about time we got together! R came over to the house to play an idea he had. It was a good one: a nice riff in the verse and sweet little pre-chorus that would lead into a chorus.

A chorus was what we were missing. We kept playing his chords over and over and, eventually, an idea formed in my head.

I got out my iTalk app and recorded the idea. The melody and chords pretty much felt right and lead nicely into the verse. We think it will work and had a few hours fun exploring each other's ideas.

It's now time for the words/lyrics. We'll each come back to the table on Tuesday, before going to The Fez, and see what we've both come up with.

Great way to spend part of a Sunday :-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.