Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Hello Gorgeous

To say there is some justice in this world is an understatement  here for this shot: I'd walked a couple of miles to the pond where I had it on very good authority from an expert that we had willow emerald damselflies - three of them - in a pond at Grafton Wood in Worcestershire.

Trotting down the fields I felt a little sad that I was without dogs as I'd never done this walk without them but hopeful in the promise of a possible good outcome on the camera front. Reaching what I thought was possibly the correct pond it started to drizzle and then came down in torrents. I had no Mac - it was in the car and tried to shelter under the perimeters of an oak tree which was neither use nor ornament as it turned out. Two hours later, oh yes I was soaked to the skin but couldn't  go back on the 2 mile hike in all that rain.

On hearing a nearby cough I realised there was a chap with an umbrella but I'm not in the habit of snuggling up to strange men under brollies at any point. We had an issue whether or not we were at the right pond and to solve the dilemma I texted my expert and even sent a photo of said pond. Umbrella man decided to check the other ponds out and then  I was assured I was in the right place. My weather App at this point is saying there was drizzle continuing for another 3/4 hour - DRIZZLE? Really?

I was so lucky here. On the very brink of calling it a day in a lull with water dripping off my cap I saw an emerald damselfly and took some shots which I was pretty chuffed with to be honest. Then I saw her! My willow emerald damsel (usually found in Suffolk) difficult to spot was hanging on a stalk just chilling. Kneeling down getting even more wet if that was possible I just chilled too and watched as she caught a lace-wing fly. As you can see the wings are far too crunchy and she was spitting them out whilst devouring the juicy bits. Suddenly I knew it had all been worthwhile and think I must have been grinning getting this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.