This is the day

By wrencottage

Diving in deep

Our avian teenagers have been much in evidence again today, especially after they clocked me filling up the feeder which contains their most favourite snack – peanut granules. I bought 6 kg of these tasty morsels in March, and will need to re-stock again very soon!

I saw a post on Nextdoor today, imploring us to put out dishes of water in our gardens to help bees get the drinks they so desperately need. I duly found a small clay dish, piled up a few pebbles in the centre as instructed and placed it near the lavender bushes, where the bees spend many hours, and then added water from the water butt. So far I haven’t actually seen any customers taking advantage of it, but while lurking in the vicinity, camera at the ready, I shot this photo of a bee with a mohican diving deep into the centre of a geum flower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.