Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Spike 'Sees' The Doc

Funny how often we use words like that which don't compute with a dog (or a person) that has no vision. We often find ourselves pointing too...

The story of the adventures of Spike goes on...mainly because not much else is happening right now. Everybody in the office calls her 'the Doc' and although she is a very no nonsense person, she is thorough and she clearly loves her patients. I don't blame her for loving Spike because he is the ideal patient. She took the stitches out of the corners of his eyes, checked his tear production and examined his corneas, one of which has a slight abrasion. (I didn't know he still has a cornea, but what do I know?) She doesn't know how he got that but I think she thought I might have done it giving him eye drops. I think he probably did it running into some plant outside. His eyes are more open now. I asked Emma, the assistant how long it would be until he was completely recovered because her little chihuahua, Toby, had the same procedure and she thought about 6 weeks. 

He has to keep wearing the cone 24/7 which I think bothers us more than it does him. I hope it won't be for 6 weeks! Even though the temperatures are rising toward triple digits, John and I are both wearing jeans because getting rammed in the shins or calves with the edge of the cone is painful! I put some tape around the front edge to try and soften the blow. 

Today is one of those days when everything happens at once. John went off to the dermatology clinic to have another squamous cell skin cancer excised and sent me a text 45 minutes after his appointment time saying he was still waiting...At least he remembered to take his phone with him. He just got home and had blood running down the back of his leg and into his shoe because they didn't put a big enough compression dressing on it. I told him what to do but he couldn't find the gauze pads, couldn't find the stretchy tape and left a bloody washcloth and all the wrappers in the sink. I told him he was going to have to  figure out how to take care of himself...

I'm a little low on patience right now...maybe because I have too many patients!

My brother is arriving later for a weekend visit. It will be great to see him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.