But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Hawthorne Blossom.

I arrived at The Old Lady's home early this morning, there was a walk on the common planned for any residents who were interested. It didn't happen so I took TOL out myself, we were a little annoyed. When she moved in she was told about all those wonderful organised activities that she was going to enjoy (one every morning and another every afternoon) but, in the intervening fortnight there have only been two church services and a birthday party; everything else has either been unsuitable, being directed at the dementia wing, or it has taken on the character of the Scarlet Pimpernel. While not wishing to take anything away from the dementia residents, it is a topic that I will bring up at the next relatives' meeting (for some reason, I keep wanting to call it "the parents' meeting").
Tomorrow, we have "Songs of Praise", I wonder if that will happen.

The walk was pleasant enough, the weather was sunny though a little breezy, and there are some nice old trees, though the ornamental pink-blossomed horse-chestnut wasn't to my taste,

TOL's #2 grandson and his children came down unexpectedly from Stratford to visit after lunch; it was a pleasant surprise but, as he has two grandmothers living within a couple of miles, he was able to kill two metaphorical old birds with one stone.

Having spent the day with a flat battery in the camera, I went for an evening stroll in Badock's wood. Unfortunately, there were very few people around. I am a little fussy about such things. I believe if you are photographing a recreational area then you should include some recreators(?) in the picture. I ended up blipping this blossom, you don't expect to see people walking over blossom, not when it's six feet off the ground.

Hawthorne is one of my favourite plants, from the clumps of clean white flowers to the gnarled and twisted stems of the old bushes that are sometimes left behind when the rest of the hedge has died away. Very occasionally, honey bees will produce a crop of from a hedge of it, the honey has the colour of black treacle; I did once see a jar of it, I could touch, but wasn't allowed to taste. It was academic anyway, as the sample was so old that the lid had corroded onto the jar and it would have taken a better man than myself to separate the two.

Post script:
Last night when I posted this, the picture looked good; in the cold light of morning it's horrible. The contrast and colours are way over the top, whether it's due to the difference between viewing in artificial light and viewing in daylight, or the difference between being tired and wide awake I don't know. I may repost this evening, but I've noticed that reposting does not update the image viewed large.

I have now reposted. I'm sorry but, in trying to force Blipfoto to update the large image, I've lost your comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.