But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Cabaret.

This is the Sabbath Day, so I took The Old Lady to church this morning. She wasn't too impressed, but the service did have the virtues of: a) being short and b) using traditional hymns. I know the proceedings are not planned around the atheist members of the congregation's preferences, but I do prefer the hymns that can actually be sung.
I also like the poetry of the King James version of the Good Book, but there I was disappointed; I'm sure all the rest of the flock would go along with KJ as well.

The last Friday of each month is "Birthday Party Day"; at the home, on this day, all the birthdays of the month are celebrated. On average, that's 6 birthdays a time; today, two of them decided not to join us, perhaps they knew what to expect

The Old Lady admitted to enjoying the occasion as Maria, the cabaret turn, sang a lot of the old songs, some of them even older than TOL herself, while others seemed a little too esoteric for an aged and, in some cases, demented audience. I did wonder about the merits of playing "Roll Me Over in the Clover" as part of the introductory medley to what was probably a fairly staid audience.

"Happy Birthday" was sung (though I doubt if the statutory copyright fee was paid), candles were blown out and cake was eaten. Next month it will be TOL's turn, I wonder if she'll go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.