But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Penicuik Town Crier.

Penicuik had its Hunter and Lass celebration today; it's a hotchpotch of several traditions starting with the "Royal Hunt of Rosslyn" for a white stag that roamed the Pentland Hills. It also includes the essence of the commons ridings that are popular in the Scottish Borders and date from the fourteenth century when it was customary for the stout townsfolk to ride around the local land ensuring that it was clear of felons.

The traditions here were started in 1936 as a supplement to the children's gala day which has since disappeared. This is my good friend Mose who, as citizen of the year, took the role of Town Crier; it is more normal for him, on these occasions to follow the procession with a shovel and bucket. He probably donates the manure to charity - he's that sort of chap.

When the Hunter and Lass rode past I had temporarily forgotten how big a horse is and had the wrong lens fitted, I'll have to try again next year.

In general, it was not a good day, I woke up unable to get out of bed; I have recurring problems with my back; sometimes they travel as for as my neck, which they had done today and, every attempt to move resulted in excruciating pains. It's a bit better now that I have been topping up on analgesics throughout the day. The pain has been niggling away for a few days but it was not until this morning's crisis that I realised just what the pain was. I shall have to be careful tomorrow as we have a bee meeting, it is not often realised that pain-killers can have serious effects on allergies and I am allergic to bee venom. I shall have to take a back seat which is not my normal way at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.