Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Glasgow University Chapel

...Where we found ourselves today reliving our past as the University Chapel Choir celebrated 60 years in its current form. Several quick, exhausted thoughts: the present choir is very, very good; the alumni like me (though not all as old as me) made a respectable contribution; we must have been the noisiest crowd of pensioners to hit an Italian restaurant in Byers Road after it was over.

What did I love? I was glad - yes - finally to have a chance to sing Parry's I Was Glad, complete with coronation vivats. What a sound! What a blast! The new organ was hair-raising and we were on wings. I didn't know how I'd feel about singing with a large group, but for this occasion, and with this group, it was great.

And I loved not having to be the one that gets it right. Just for once.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.