Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Dinner

Ok. That's enough pretty scenery and beautiful flowers for a day at least - though I did take some lovely pics of rhododendrons, hawthorn blossom and a wild iris today, to say nothing of a pheasant called Kevin. But that's another story.

I decided today that since I came back from my holidays I've been cooking quick sort of meals - pasta, steaks, stir-fries: the kind of food you can make from scratch in less than an hour at most. In expiation, and because this packet of minced lamb was cluttering up my freezer, I made that most fiddly of Greek dishes, moussaka. Tonight we ate half of it - the rest is back in the freezer in the space liberated by the mince that made it.

It will not stay there long. The moussaka was delicious and worth (almost) the effort of assembling its parts. I served it with a few new potatoes, purple flowering broccoli, and some baby broad beans anointed with lemon and dill flavoured olive oil. Mmmmm...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.