Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A colourful lunch

For the first time in ages we have had a day of rain. In fact it looks like July is turning out to be unusually cool and a bit meh, usually July is the best month of the summer.

I had to go back to the optician today for my routine eye check that I was unable to have the other day. All is well, my prescription has worsened slightly in one eye but it is not worth changing my glasses for that adjustment.

When I got home I was sorting bedding and laundry as I like to leave fresh sheets on the bed when we go away, and for the washing to be done and ironed. I then made food for the journey tomorrow as I don't like to eat the kind of food you get in motorway services, especially not what you get in France. I prepared breakfast - overnight oats with chia seeds and nuts and a topping of blueberries - and then lunch - quinoa salad with vegetables. Here you can see how colourful the quinoa salad is, as I use a combination of red and black quinoa, and have added roasted butternut, peppers, spring onions, and (lactose free) feta.

I have started packing but I need to crack on and finish my packing. I hate packing - not the process of putting clothing in a suitcase, but trying to decide what I want to wear in the future. I like to dress according to the weather, my mood, and what I will be doing on that day, and I don't have the answers to that for a day two or three weeks in the future!

My Kindle is loaded up with books to read - I remember the days when I had to pack a bag full of heavy books - now it is so much easier with e-books, and if I run out it's not a problem as I can download more.

We aim to leave at about 4am tomorrow morning (I doubt we will but not a problem as we always book flexi-crossing at the channel) and for the first time we are going in Gavin's electric car. He puts in the destination and the car system plots the route and tells him how often he needs to charge, and where he can charge, and if there are super chargers there. For a journey of about 700 miles it looks like we need to charge twice, but we will probably charge three times just to err on the side of caution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.