carliewired

By carliewired

93 F/ 34 C

The air is as thick
as chowder so don't be long
outside this morning!

~carliewired

I made sure not to leave any windows open overnight. We'd been warned that our valleys would fill with wildfire smoke. My first view out to the deck confirmed the wisdom of that warning. 

At 6 I was off to Mission Flats. I wanted a location where I could view the red sun over the river. 

I drove down to the end of the road to get a panorama looking across the river towards the airport. Visibility is poor and I can taste the wildfire smoke. 

I found one of the local ospreys having breakfast on top of a power pole. One lonely Canada goose paddled up river towards me. It was very still and quiet.

I picked up some groceries and a breakfast on my way home. I was back inside to listen to the 8 AM news. 

It's to be an inside day with my feet up in my recliner. I'm hoping this dismal air quality will improve soon. 

A female firefighter has died while fighting a wildfire near Revelstoke, British Columbia. We are reminded that wildfires come with a terrible cost. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.