A day in the life

By Shelling

Öland-Kalmar-Öland

As a pensioner I can decide over most of my time, something I value very much. I'm fortunate to live in a country with a pension system that makes it possible to develop my own interests even after a professional career.

Or, to do something completely unnecessary for a few hours. I didn't feel like cooking this evening and decided to pay for "professional food" at a restaurant in the harbour, where I know the chef a little and want to support his business. To create even a bigger appetite I took a trip on "Dessi", the  ferry between Kalmar and Öland that transports bicycle tourists to and fro the island since bicycles are not allowed on the bridge. The ferry takes 30 min each way and gave me some new views, a blip and a lot of sea breeze to prepare me for the pasta course and some wine at the restaurant before going home on my bicycle. I'm so grateful to have the possibility of doing unproductive things like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.