Living my dream

By Mima

Mould

This is a 16 week old Cheshire cheese which has been maturing in the cheese cave, and which won’t be ready for at least another seven weeks. The shadow beneath the wax is mould which has to be dealt with sooner rather than later.

It will only be on the surface, and once the mould is shaved off the cheese beneath will be fine. So I shall remove all the wax and check the cheese carefully. Once I’ve removed all the mould I can re-wax it and it’ll go back into the cheese cave to mature until it’s ready to eat.

It is one of three cheeses which have developed mould under the wax in the last 10 days. I’m seeking expert advice about the possible cause. Have I applied the wax too thin, allowing air and spores to get in? It does seem to be darker in one spot, where there maybe a microscopic hole in the wax. Or is it just an occupational hazard of home cheese making where despite my very best efforts a 100% sterile environment is impossible?

Trouble is, I’ve almost run out of wax, so today’s top priority has been to order a new block. 

I’ve dug all the remaining potatoes and have them drying out on a tarp on the drive. I need to sort them into three piles. Eat now. Store. Use as seed for the new season.

The raspberry canes are beckoning me to prune them next…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.