WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Creativity

In a bold move, when S and T suggested a couple of weeks ago going to Carcassonne for the fireworks this evening, we agreed. Mainly Entirely because the SNCF had laid on a special train from Narbonne to Carcassonne and back, stopping in Lézignan on the way, so no need to drive, with the problem of parking and then the horror of getting out of Carcassonne afterwards. The last time we went must be over 20 years ago. We weren't even in Carcassonne but in a suburb, and it still took an hour to drive the first 3 kilometres before reaching a point where we could take to the back roads.

I still started to feel a bit nervous though, what with claims there would be half a million people, you had to be there by lunchtime for a chance of a good spot, it would be packed out ... happily I can report that this was all nonsense. The SNCF experience was impeccable. There were about 100 people on the platform in Lézignan (I've never seen this normally deserted station that busy!) and we thought there'd be a mad scramble to get on the train, but in fact there was plenty of space for everyone.

The train arrived just before seven and we walked down to the bank of the Aude. As you can see (extra 1) it was not rammed with people and it was easy to find a spot with a good view. It got a bit more crowded than this later, but it was never uncomfortable. We spread out our blankets and had a leisurely and very civilised picnic. Even if you hadn't brought your own food, there was a beer tent and a pizza van on hand.

Of course there were still hours to wait before the start of the display. Some people had brought packs of cards, and the large family in front of us had brought colouring books for the children. We hadn't thought of any of this so we just lounged around chatting and enjoying the view. 

The display started bang on time, with a single startlingly limp firework. Things hotted up later though; it's always spectacular. Because of my expectation of huge crowds, I hadn't brought the big camera or the tripod. I used the little camera on fireworks mode, but as I was lacking a) a tripod and b) an understanding of how this mode works, my photos were definitely not worthy. Rather than fiddling further, I decided I'd just enjoy the show. 

Looking at my photos this morning I didn't have much to work with. But I did enjoy mucking about with them in Lightroom -- they reminded me of the generative art course I did a few years ago. So I decided to go with the abstract art look. This was my favourite (sharper in large); I've put a few more in extras. They may not stay there long. I think it works for BCMovement … camera movement that is!

We had an hour to kill after the display so we walked down to the Place Carnot where a Beatles tribute band was playing (there's always entertainment after the fireworks because it avoids everybody trying to leave town at the same time). Again, it was crowded but not uncomfortably so. S bought some beers and we managed to find a table, robbing chairs from elsewhere, but then a waitress came and chased us away because it turned out the beer was from the bar next door and the table was hers. The chairs weren't though -- we took them with us and sat elsewhere.

In a very appropriate finale, as we set off back to the station we turned a corner to find a crowded bar where all the customers were singing along to a brass band rendition of the Marseillaise. At the station, the SNCF staff were marshalling hundreds of people in front of the building and using loud hailers to direct people depending on which train they were catching. It was very well organised; they were letting people through in batches so that the platforms were never too crowded. We took our seats with plenty of time to spare and whizzed comfortably homewards. Bed by 1:30. I might be tempted to do this again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.