I am camera

By Martinski

A Gannet

I was walking away from the canal towpath towards the golf practice range when I noticed movement in a ditch. I thought it was a small dog but it turned out to be a gannet. It looks like a mature adult, but it can't fly. It's a handsome looking bird. I wondered if it had got caught up in yesterday's storm. I've phoned the Scottish SPCA and they suggested that it may be injured or have avian flu. The lady asked if I could throw a cover over it. I'll give it a go though we've just had heavy rain and the animal is about 15 minutes walk away.
   I went along with an old shirt but the bird reared up every time I chucked it. So I thought, you can have my shirt. (S/he was partly on top of it by then,) I have christened the bird Gilbert or Gilberta.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.