MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

I Am A Bee (Mole) And I Live In A Hole

I spotted some tiny mounds of earth with holes in them in the front garden. As soon as I saw this mini miner bee peering at me from its hole I thought of this song by The Southerners, which I remember from the fifties. I am a mole and I live in a hole was a catchphrase then. Mishka and I spent a pleasant interlude watching the bees going about their business.

Earlier Mishka had watched me photographing a common field grasshopper on the tyre of the discarded ride-on mower/bee hotel. 

I captured the gravid ground beetle this afternoon. I tickled her with a grass seedhead to try and get a better angle. I was surprised when she grabbed it in her jaws and bit a chunk out of it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.